Already have an account?
Get back to the

‘Bridgerton’ Tells Each Sibling’s Story One Book at a Time! See the Series’ Order and Full Timeline

The book series by Julia Quinn follows a specific order, starting with Daphne's love tale


The Bridgerton family has been the talk of the ton since the first half of Netflix’s season 3 dropped in May. With all the steamy promos and that crazy cliffhanger, fans are eagerly awaiting the arrival of part two as of publication, which drops on June 13. But while you wait, you may want to check out the Bridgerton books in order, as the series follows a specific timeline. These exciting novels may be just what you need to hold you over until you can see what will happen between Colin and Penelope (or Polin, if you will).

MUST-READ: Shonda Rhimes and Showrunner Jess Brownell Dish on ‘Bridgerton’ Season 3

‘Bridgerton’ Book 1:The Duke and I

man and woman looking away
Regé Jean Page and Phoebe Dynevor in ‘Bridgerton’

If season 1 of the Netflix series is what immediately drew you in (or the duke), then you should certainly check out the first Bridgerton novel by Julia Quinn, The Duke and I. As Simon is on the verge of proposing to Daphne Bridgerton, she can’t help but know the engagement will be a sham.

Meant to keep the duke free from the prying eyes of unmarried women and their mothers, the plan starts to go sideways as Daphne begins to actually fall for the duke. Though Netflix made minor changes from the novel, The Duke and I will keep you on the edge of your seat just like season 1 of the series did.

‘Bridgerton’ Book 2:The Viscount Who Loved Me

Another novel, another season. The Viscount, Anthony Bridgerton, is determined to marry the right girl in The Viscount Who Loved Me, setting his sights on the season’s diamond, Miss Edwina Sharma. But when his intended’s older sister, Kate Sheffield, catches his eye, Anthony finds himself dreaming of the wrong woman.

While Kate is set on not marrying, the Viscount starts to change her mind. Determined to protect her sister’s heart, she instead finds herself falling for the Viscount in return and might be unable to resist his charm.

MUST-READ: ‘Bridgerton’ Cast: Catch Up With the Stars of the Delightful Regency Era Series

man in wet shirt climbing from river; bridgerton books in order
Jonathan Bailey in ‘Bridgerton’

‘Bridgerton’ Book 3: ‘An Offer from a Gentleman’

Although season 3 of Netflix’s Bridgerton follows Colin and Penelope’s romance, the third romance in the books explores Benedict’s story. Following a very Cinderella-esque storyline, servant Sophie Beckett sneaks into one of the Bridgerton’s famed balls. Although she immediately meets her Prince Charming (Benedict), Sophie knows the fantasy must end at midnight.

Ever since the ball, Benedict has been blinded from the beauty he met. But when he sees a strangely familiar face dressed as a maid, he can’t help but rescue her — and maybe fall in love with her?

‘Bridgerton’ Book 4: ‘Romancing Mister Bridgerton’

Arguably the most popular story right now, as it recently dropped on Netflix, is that of Penelope and Colin’s romance. Penelope has been in love with her best friend’s brother for years, painstakingly watching him from her drawing room window. While simply known as the charmer of the Bridgerton family, Colin comes back from his adventures ready for something new.

After returning from London and seeing Penelope in a new light, his feelings start to align with hers. But when he realizes she, too, has secrets, Colin must decide whether a life and love with Penelope is worth the gossip from Lady Whistledown.

MUST-READ: ‘Bridgerton’ Star Nicola Coughlan Teases Penelope and Colin’s Season of Romance

man and woman looking at each other; bridgerton books in order
Nicola Coughlan and Luke Newton in ‘Bridgerton’

‘Bridgerton’ Book 5: ‘To Sir Phillip, With Love’

Assuming she’s desperate for a husband, Sir Phillip Crane chooses to propose to Eloise Bridgerton, a woman who would have otherwise been a spinster due to her contemporary views on womanhood and marriage. But when she is everything but the quiet, adoring wife he thought she would be, he finds himself actually falling for her.

Eloise, meanwhile, finds herself on the verge of marrying Phillip, a man she’s never met, while turning down gentlemanly offers in London. Will these two seemingly uncommon people find love with each other after all? 

‘Bridgerton’ Book 6: ‘When He Was Wicked’

Michael Stirling, the notorious rake (womanizer) from London, finds his world changed after seeing sparkler Francesca Bridgerton for the first time. Unfortunately, their introduction came just a day and a half before she was set to marry his cousin.

Now, however, that Francesca is available romantically once again, Michael is still head over heels, with the Bridgerton sister thinking of him as nothing more than a close friend. One night, however, proves to be all that is necessary to draw the two together.

‘Bridgerton’ Book 7: ‘It’s In His Kiss’ 

man and woman close together
Jonathan Bailey and Simone Ashley in ‘Bridgerton’

After Gareth St. Clair’s father is set on thwarting his inheritance, he must find the answers to his problems in a family diary, written in Italian — which he doesn’t speak. After meeting Hyacinth Bridgerton, however, he finds a solution to his translation problem, though sees the young lady as a bit intolerable. 

While they pour through the pages together, something is ultimately sparked between them. In classic Bridgerton fashion, however, it’s not quite that simple.  

MUST-READ: 12 Must-Read Historical Romance Novels to Tide You Over Until ‘Bridgerton’ Season 3!

‘Bridgerton’ Book 8: ‘On the Way to the Wedding’

Gregory Bridgerton, unlike many other London gentlemen, thinks that true love is in his future, much like his own parents’ romance. But when the one he is set on marrying – Miss Hermione Watson – is uninterested, her best friend, Lady Lucinda Abernathy, extends her help  to win his supposed love over.

But in typical Bridgerton fashion, Lucy, who is engaged herself, finds her heart drawn to Gregory. Now, he must find a way to be the only man standing opposite of Lucy at the altar.

Keep scrolling for more book content!

FIRST Book Club: Kristan Higgins’ New ‘Look on the Bright Side’ Is ‘Compelling’ Plus More Book Releases

5 Star-Studded Celebrity Book Clubs + Their Favorite Picks: From Mystery to Romance!

FIRST Summer Reading Guide: 13 Must-Read Books That Feel Like An Instant Vacation!

Use left and right arrow keys to navigate between menu items. Use right arrow key to move into submenus. Use escape to exit the menu. Use up and down arrow keys to explore. Use left arrow key to move back to the parent list.