Home

How to Delete a Text Before Someone Sees It

Tags:

There is a way to delete a text message from somebody’s phone before they have read it. We repeat: There is actually a way to delete sent texts before the recipient has opened them. After countless times of wishing we could “unsend” a risky message after a few glasses of wine, this is the news we’ve all been waiting for. Praise be the tech gods of the mobile phone world!

If you’ve ever regretted sending a text, which we imagine is a scenario nearly everyone can identify with, then the new app Privates acts as your own personal (non-illegal) cleaner, getting you out of any potential tricky spots that an ill-judged text, or picture, may get you in… phew!

Privates, which is currently available on Apple iOS (though Windows and Android versions are expected to be up next), allows users to recall messages before the recipient opens the message, so obviously speed is paramount if you want the app to work.

In tandem with immediate recall function, Privates also allows users to customize “self-destruct settings” by selecting from three levels of security — Mild, Wild and Insane — which deletes the message (so long as it’s unread) after three, 12, and 24 hours accordingly.

Speaking to Metro.co.uk, Dr. Isaac Datikashvili, the creator of the app explained: “I’m very honest about that but it’s better than anything else at maintaining privacy.”

“It’s not impossible, but it’s virtually impossible for one person to screen grab or save anything if the security setting is high,” here referring to the screenshot prevention mechanism which prevents recipients from forwarding, copying, or saving your messages.

You can download Privates for free here

This post was written by contributors at Grazia. For more, check out our sister site, Grazia.

Don’t have wi-fi? Learn how to turn your phone into a hotspot.

More from FIRST

New App Freezes Kids’ Phones Until They Answer Your Texts

How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Facebook

Say What?! The iPhone Had a Mouse All Along

Use left and right arrow keys to navigate between menu items. Use right arrow key to move into submenus. Use escape to exit the menu. Use up and down arrow keys to explore. Use left arrow key to move back to the parent list.