Already have an account?
Get back to the

A New ‘Fourth Wing’ Book Is Coming! What Best-Selling Author Rebecca Yarros Has to Say About It

Yarros has commented on the cover art, plot and more – plus get an update on the TV show

“A dragon with a rider is a tragedy. A rider without a dragon is dead. Welcome to The Fourth Wing.” It’s the line that caught the attention of readers all over the world to put down their phones and pick up the best-selling novel The Fourth Wing, written by Rebecca Yarros, who just recently announced the cover and title of the third book. To learn more about the release date, the title, the cover and more keep reading.

The third ‘Fourth Wing’ book

The third Fourth Wing book is entitled Onyx Storm and is set to release on January 21, 2025.

“I’m excited to finally announce that the third book in the Empyrean series will be released January 21, 2025,” author Yarros said in a video that aired during Good Morning America. “I can’t tell you much yet, but I can tell you the title: Onyx Storm. There will be politics, new adventures, old enemies and, of course, dragons. The book is out for pre-order now and I can’t wait to share more details with you later.”

onyx storm book cover
Entangled: Red Tower Books

Then, on July 8, author Yarros and Redtower released the cover for the book, writing on social media, “Are you ready to BRAVE THE DARK? Get ready to fly or die in the breathtaking follow-up to Fourth Wing and Iron Flame from #1 New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Yarros. Onyx Storm releases January 21, 2025.”

The post teased the limited edition cover, sparking excitement among fans everwhere. It will be available for purchase in the U.S. and Canada.

The plot of Onyx Storm has yet to be revealed as of publication.

What is ‘Fourth Wing’ about?

The first book in the Empyrean book is entitled Fourth Wing. It follows Violet who was supposed to live a quiet life among books, but the commanding general — who’s also Violet’s mother — has ordered her to become a dragon rider instead. Now, Violet must fight her way to the top and hope that her enemy, Xaden Rioson, the most powerful and ruthless wingleader, doesn’t kill her in the process. What follows is a battle of strength, knowledge, trust and love. It was released on May 2, 2023, by Entangled: Red Tower Books.

Fourth wing and iron flame
Entangled: Red Tower Books
‘Fourth Wing’ and ‘Iron Flame’ 

Then, on November 7, 2023, its sequel Iron Flame released. The plot takes place during training at Basgiath War College, and Violet Sorrengail is put to the ultimate test to stretch dragon riders’ capacity. But the new vice commandant is out to reveal Violet’s weaknesses — unless she betrays the man she loves. Secrets are soon revealed and Violet vows to fight back.

The Empyrean series is set to have five books in total, with the third one coming out in January 2025.

The ‘Fourth Wing’ TV show

After the success of the first novel took off, it was announced that the TV series was in the works at Amazon MGM studios. Yarros is expected to serve as a non-writing producer on the show, but past that, no other details have been announced.

For all things books, click here!

More Stories

Use left and right arrow keys to navigate between menu items. Use right arrow key to move into submenus. Use escape to exit the menu. Use up and down arrow keys to explore. Use left arrow key to move back to the parent list.