Self-destructing emails are a huge help for many people when it comes to sending sensitive information over the internet. After all, as much as you may trust the person who receives the email, few things might give you more peace of mind knowing that there is a time limit set on how long that private information will be available. And after you download ProtonMail, available on both the iPhone and the Android, sending self-destructing emails is easy as pie.
Follow the simple steps below, and you'll be a pro at sending self-destructing emails in no time.
If you are sending this email to another person with a ProtonMail account, your work here is pretty much done, and all you have to do is click the "send" button (aka the paper plane icon at the top right-hand corner). But if the person doesn't have an account with ProtonMail, you will have to set a password.
We know you're curious about how your message will look to your recipient while they are able to access it. Here's what one will see in a typical Gmail account.
After the message expires, it will automatically be deleted from your "sent" folder. If your recipient is a ProtonMail user as well, it will also be deleted. If the recipient uses another email account, the email with the link will remain, but rest assured that the message itself along with any additional attachments you sent will be deleted.
And now... you can breathe!
h/t Gadget Hacks
NEXT: See some brilliant Netflix hacks you should definitely know about.
How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Facebook
How to Delete a Text Before Someone Sees It
New App Freezes Kids' Phones Until They Answer Your Texts